May 4, 2017

In Blog News


The Greek “leftist” government votes against a resolution that condemns Israeli violations in the Occupied Palestinian territory

” Today UNESCO has adopted a new resolution condemning Israeli violations in the occupied Palestinian territory, including East Jerusalem. Despite intensive lobbying by Israel & its allies, only 10 states voted ‘No’. While 22 voted ‘Yes’, and there were 26 abstentions.
22 countries voted in favor of the resolution, including South Africa, Algeria, Bangladesh, Brazil, China, Egypt, Russia, Iran, Lebanon, Malaysia, Morocco, Mauritius, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Senegal, Sudan, Sweden,Chad and Vietnam.
10 countries voted against the resolution, including Germany, The United States, Italy, Great Britain, Holland, Lithuania, Greece, Paraguay, Ukraine and Togo also opposed the resolution.
23 countries abstained, including France, Spain, Slovenia, Estonia, India, Argentina, Mexico and Japan. Other abstaining nations included Haiti, Dominican Republic, Saint Kitts, Kenya, Trinidad, Albania, Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Mozambique, Uganda, El Salvador, South Korea and Sri Lanka.
3 countries did not participate in the vote – Nepal, Serbia and Turkmenistan.”

Jul 23, 2014